Battle awaits Knights

18d30ec03ad052ec9c738f7f778c0221Birmingham Knights’ second import signing Armond Battle is excited about the challenge of helping the BBL new-boys in his first season as a pro.

The 23 year-old joins compatriot Brent Benson along with other confirmed signings Emile Hopkins, Ryan Lewis and brothers Michael and Martyn Gayle and is looking forward to the opportunity.

“I am very excited to start my professional career with the Birmingham Knights. The fact that they are a new team is intriguing and will be great experience that I am excited to be a part of.”

Battle added: “The Knights are giving me a chance to fulfill one of my life long dreams and I cant wait to contribute my skills to the team.”

The 6’7″ American averaged 22.3 points per game, 7.1 rebounds and 3.4 assists in his senior year at Benilde-St. Margaret High School and finished as the school’s all-time leading rebounder and second top scorer in their history.

Battle missed a whole season due to a torn achilles before bouncing back with two seasons with Wright State in the NCAA before spending last season with Urbana Blue Knights where he averaged 21.1 ppg along with 5.7 rebounds.

Now the challenge is to take the next step in his career and continue improving as a player.

“I have been fortunate to have played on some great teams in the past that have accomplished a lot and have also played with great talented players along the way.

“My game has developed so much over the years and right now I am working hard to get better day by day and will continue climbing towards the peak of my game.”

Battle will bring versatility to the Knights and gives Coach Paul Douglas options in a number of positions as he gave fans a taste of what to expect from their new recruit.

“I’m a tall Guard/Forward that can score the ball in numerous ways, taking advantage of smaller defenders by a post-up, or taking  taller defenders off the dribble.”

Battle by name and battle by nature for the American, who is a big competitor eager to make an impact in the BBL as he aims to gain a good experience from his first venture overseas.

“There are a lot of great things I’ve heard about the BBL because they have great players, team, and coaches”

“I can’t wait to join my team and play against great competition in league play as well as my team-mates who I’m sure will push me competitively,” he added.

The rookie’s new side were in action last Sunday where they defeated a West Midlands Select Team 81-59. Aaron Maher and Kieran Mills have also been signed by Coach Douglas as he strengthens his roster ahead of the new season which is just over a month away.

Leave a Reply

