Creekmore strengthens Wolves’ will to win

Creekmore joining the Wolfpack for 2013-14

Creekmore joining the Wolfpack for 2013-14

Worcester Wolves have confirmed the signing of American centre Will Creekmore and their new recruit is looking forward to a new challenge.

“I’m extremely excited about playing with the Wolves this season. The BBL is a competitive league in a great country and I’m excited to help the team compete for a title,” Creekmore said.

The 24 year-old becomes head-coach Paul James‘ 4th new signing and is delighted to have a chance to shine with Worcester.

He said: “The BBL is an up and coming league and I think that it’s well on its way to being one of the top leagues in Europe.

“The chance to be a key contributor on a team that has the pieces to play at a very high level was really attractive to me and I think that Coach James and I are definitely on the same page about doing what it takes to win.”

The 6’9″ forward/centre brings plenty of experience with him having played in the German Pro-A league with Ehingen, before representing OKC’s minor affiliate, Tulsa 66ers, in the NBA D-League alongside players of NBA experience.

“The D-League was an interesting experience for me. I battled injuries and some other things that limited my playing time, but I learned a lot about what it takes to play at the highest level.”

Creekmore added: “We had the chance to practice against and play with a lot of the Thunder players and I played for a great coaching staff. Overall, it was a positive experience for me!”

The American prides himself on a strong work ethic and a high level of toughness and has given Wolves fans a taste of what to expect this season with his ‘unique skill set’.

“I enjoy doing the little things-rebounding, defense, taking charges, etc- that help teams win games. I can shoot the ball well from outside and also score on the block.”

Creekmore is hoping to have a big role with the Wolves this season and with the influential Alex Owumi re-signed and Zaire Taylor snapped up from the treble-winning Riders, Coach James is assembling a strong squad. The aim is for Worcester to be Championship contenders which is something Creekmore agrees with:

“I think anytime you go into a season, a championship should be the main goal. I’ve never played in the BBL before, but on paper it looks like we definitely have the pieces to compete for a trophy.”

Fans can follow Will Creekmore (@Creekmo44) on Twitter 

Leave a Reply

